After breakfast on our second day, we learnt more about what school life was like in the Goldrush era. We are glad that we didn't go to school in those times because the punishments were very harsh, like getting hit by a strap, ruler or a cane.

We went to the tavern and the teachers sang 'God Save the Queen'. We played Bingo, then we made damper. While the damper was cooking, we made a toy called a whirligig. It was made with a cardboard button and string and it was really hard to do. Some of us mastered it, but some of us failed miserably. Finally our damper was ready and we got to eat it with Golden Syrup. It tasted delicious.
After our delicious damper, we played a variety of 1850's games. Outside, we played horseshoe quoits, hopscotch and skipping.

Inside, we played paper games called Boxes and Tic Tac Toe, which is the same as Noughts and Crosses. We also played a really fun game called Pennies, where you had to knock a penny along a table to try to make it stop inside a target. We also played dominos. The whole time we were playing, there was a freaky Peacock watching us through the window!
We had lunch after the games and then headed to the Souvenir Shop where we were able to buy something to remember our trip. There was time for a few fun photos and then it was time to head back to school. When we got home, we were exhausted and a little disappointed that it was all over, but glad to see our families.
Did you come to Mogo?
What was the best part of the trip?
If you didn't come, what do you think sounded like the best part?
Where do you think would be the best place to go for an overnight excursion?
Luke
15/9/2013 06:06:28 pm

Hi Marsden

I did go to Mogo and I reckon the best part of the trip was gold panning. The best place for an overnight excursion would be Mogo

Reply
Julie
15/9/2013 09:36:36 pm

Hi Marsden and Mrs Chegwidden,

Yes, I did go to Mogo. It was an amazing trip!

The best part of the trip was definitely the tour around Old Mogo Town. We got to look and do so many things on the tour. It was educational, yet fun!

The best place to go on an overnight excursion? That's really hard! If I could choose, I would go to anywhere that had a lot of snow! The Snowy Mountains would be an AWESOME place to go! Snowball fights, snowmans, snow angels, skiing and sledding, the fun we would have! I've never touched snow before, that's why I really want to go to the snow!

Mogo seemed too short! We should definitely go there again!

From your student/classmate,
Julie

Reply
Mane and Vinit
16/9/2013 01:10:43 pm

Hi Marsden and Mrs Chegwidden,

We think that the most fun part of Mogo was the Bush Dance! Because it wasn't only fun but it was also funny and tiring. If I got to pick what overnight excursion we can go on. I would choose to go to a Place full of chocolate because if we were there I would eat all of it.

From Mane and Vinit

Reply
Vlatko
16/9/2013 01:11:27 pm

Hello Marsden,

Yes I did go to Mogo. The best part was when we got to pan for gold. The best overnight excursion I've been to is Mogo.

From:Vlatko

Reply
Aditya
16/9/2013 03:44:25 pm

Hello Everyone,

I got the pleasure to come and I had a great time! The best part was panning for gold as I found some gold myself!

Sincerely, Aditya

Reply
Pat community centre
16/9/2013 04:43:16 pm

Hi Marsden, looks like you all had a great time on your excursion

From pat

Reply
Ramona
16/9/2013 05:14:25 pm

Hi everyone,

I didn't come to mogo but thats alright. The damper looked really delicious! I bet that would've been the best part Mogo but really the whole excursion would've been the best part. I have never played some of the games so I am very disappointed that I did not get an opportunity to try new games.

What was your favourite memory at Mogo?

From Ramona

Reply
skye
18/9/2013 10:46:43 am

Hi Ramona,

I went to mogo but I didn't have a favourite part. I loved eating the damper and playing all the games although I wasn't good at the penny one.

Sincerely Skye

Reply
Kevin
16/9/2013 06:31:03 pm

Hi Marsden,
I did come to Mogo and it was awesome! I think that the best part was to pan for real gold! I didn't find gold but it was really fun. I have know idea what will be a good place to have an overnight excursion all the overnight excursions I have been to we're great.
From your classmate Kevin

Reply
Luke
25/9/2013 07:23:41 pm

Hi Marsden
On the final day I got really hungry as the damper was cooking. I liked the games the best I reckon they were awesome on the last day.

Reply
Celine
7/10/2013 09:51:45 am

Hi Marsden,

Yes, I did come to mogo. I think the best part of the trip had to be...gold panning. It was my favourite part of goingto mogo because I got to experience something I haven't done before. It was really interesting gathering the gold flakes, but quite tiring.

I don't really know where the best place would be if we went on an overnight excursion. It would be hard to decide because we all have different opinions.

Sincerely, Celine.

Reply



Leave a Reply.