Last week during literacy, Marsden used a website called iFaketext.com to create fake text messages. Because we have been reading Letters From the Goldfields, we thought it would be fun to pretend that the Gold Rush was happening in our era.

Our teacher created a video to teach us how to create the text and use the Snipping Tool to save it as a jpeg. We watched the video at home so that we were ready to create our text in our computer time during Guided Reading sessions. Using the knowledge we have gained through reading, research and discussions, we created text messages that might have been sent from the Gold Fields, if mobile phones had existed in 1851!

This text was created by Vinit.
Did you enjoy using iFaketext.com?
Did you have any problems?
Can you think of any other uses for this website?
Ramona
20/8/2013 09:56:55 am

Hello Marsden,

I really enjoyed using iFaketext.com. When I saw that the others in my group had some problems using iFaketext.com, I was really relieved that I didn't have any problems. iFaketext.com was really fun using.

Ramona

Reply
Marah
20/8/2013 04:25:59 pm

Hi Marsden

I really enjoyed using the iFaketext because it was like you were actually texting someone which was so cool!

Unfortunately, I did have some problems which was when I wrote too much text, so all of the text went.

From your Classmate Marah!

Reply
21/8/2013 06:16:06 pm

Dear Marsden,

I really loved iFaketext.com but I did put in too much information so it upset the website! Next time I should not put in so much stuff!

Maybe we can use this as a joke text ,like one person pretends that they won a million dollars and they would share it with the others!

What more ideas can you think of?

Sincerely,
Aditya

Reply
Julie
25/8/2013 12:10:41 pm

Hi Marsden and Mrs Chegwidden,

I really enjoyed iFakeText.com because it is a fun way to do work.

I had one problem which was that I put too much text and there was an error, so I had to start all over again.

There should be many ways to use iFakeText.com, like you can prank people or we could do more letters on it!

From your classmate/student,
Julie

Reply
Vlatko
26/8/2013 12:56:10 pm

Hi Marsden and Mrs Chegwidden,

I enjoyed using iFakeText because it is like you are really texting someone on a mobile Phone.

I had to wait for it to load becuase I put too much text.

Sincerely,
Vlatko

Reply
Mane
26/8/2013 01:02:08 pm

Hi Marsden,

I really enjoyed using iFaketext and I would want to use it again because it was like we were actually in the goldfields, texting to somebody else.

Unfortunately, I wrote too much text and when I published it, it all got deleted and I didn't get much done.

From Mane

Reply
Luke
28/8/2013 10:51:21 am

Hi Marsden

I really enjoyed using I fake text because it made me feel like I was actually sending letters from the goldfields.

From Luke

Reply
Mrs Reardon
29/8/2013 03:03:41 pm

Oh I love this idea!!!! Can I steal it to use with Gleitzman??! Looks like so much fun. Did any of you use sms speak, or did you all use full words and proper sentences?

Reply
Frank
29/8/2013 05:07:34 pm

Hi Mrs Reardon,

We've been learning how to write much better and more successful comments on the internet. No we don't use sms speak and instead we write the the comments by our selves.

Sincerely,
Frank

Reply
Mrs Reardon
29/8/2013 03:04:39 pm

I forgot to leave my email address so I can see the responses! Oops!

Reply
27/9/2014 11:22:03 pm

Spy shakers or discovery shakers are great toys that are really, and I mean REALLY, easy to make at home.

Reply



Leave a Reply.